You want to know how to delete twitter account permanently, it is not difficult to do; though twitter will not be happy to see you go. There are numerous reasons why you will like to delete a twitter account, some of the reasons include the following.
1. Project or event expiration
2. Duplication of account
3. Error in account details
4. Tired of twitter activities or inactivity.
5. Unpleasant experience
6. Privacy concerns
7. Online harassment
- Twitter’s “servers automatically record information (“Log Data”) created by your use of the Services. Log Data may include information such as your IP address, browser type, operating system, the referring web page, pages visited, location, your mobile carrier, device and application IDs, search terms, and cookie information.”
- Twitter stores and will only delete “any common account identifiers, such as your username, full IP address, or email address, after 18 months.”
- If you connect your Twitter account to any 3rd party service, such as Facebook, information from that account is now indefinitely stored on Twitter’s servers. However it does mention that this data will be removed “a few weeks” after “your disconnecting from Twitter your account on the other service.”
How to delete twitter account in 4 easy steps:
- Sign in to twitter.com on the web.
- Go to your Account settings and click on Deactivate my account at the bottom of the page.
- Read the account deactivation information. Click Okay, fine, deactivate account.
- Enter your password when prompted and verify that you want to deactivate your account.
Some little details you need to know about your deleted account
– You must know that deactivation is an action that must be taken by the confirmed account holder or by request of a confirmed account holder. Unfortunately, unless you can contact twitter from the confirmed email address (or have access to the verified mobile number on the account), twitter will be unable to deactivate the account on your behalf.
– You need a valid password, if you cannot remember your password your account will not be deleted.
– You cannot delete or deactivate your account on a mobile device. You need to do that on a pc web version or desktop version.
– Your account does not disappear immediately, it is queued up for deletion.
– The following information also applies how to delete twitter account:
- We only retain your user data for 30 days from the date of deactivation, after which it is permanently deleted.
- You may reactivate your account at any time during these 30 days by logging in.
- You do not need to deactivate your account to change your username or email address; you can change it at any time in your account settings.
- To use a username or email address on another account, you must first change them and then confirm the change prior to deactivation.
- We do not control content indexed by search engines like Google or Bing.
- After deactivation, your account should be removed within a few minutes, however some content may be viewable on twitter.com for a few days.
how to delete twitter account continues
To make your username or email address available for re-use before deactivating your account:
- On the web, go to your Settings page from the drop-down menu under the profile icon.
- In the username field, choose a new username.
- In the email address field, change your email address to a new address you own.
- Confirm the new email address via a link we send to you (very important!)
- Your email and username will now be available to use on a new account if you choose to sign up again during the 30 day deactivation period.
- Proceed with deactivation as listed above.
Ohh! One more thing, you can stop the process of account deletion within 30 days after you initiate the account deletion process. All you need is to login only once with your username and password within the 30 days.
Share with us why you will like to delete your twitter account.